Executive Committee
Home Page


Minutes of the Executive Committee

May 17, 2000

Present: Scott Britton (Chair), Malcolm Hamilton, Ellen Isenstein, Ken Carpenter, Jan Voogd, Laura Farwell Blake, Betsy Eggleston (recording), Emily Moss, and guest Ann Whiteside

Absent: Amy Kautzman, Judi Beland, Lynn Shirey


Committee Reports

Professional Development Committee

Betsy Eggleston reported that the committee met on May 12 and finalized plans for their presentation of the academic year, a panel titled Harvard Librarians in the International Community: Career Paths without Boundaries. The committee carries over plans for next year to investigate presenting an open forum for IFLA planners and a Bryant Fellowship exhibition. The committee elected Karen Nipps as next year's chair.

Communications and Orientation Committee

Laura Farwell Blake reported that the committee had recently sponsored an open house at the Countway Library, held as part of the day's events celebrating the completion of the Countway renovation. The committee also held its final meeting last week. The next meeting will be called in September. No new chair has been selected.

Benefits Committee

Ann Whiteside reported for Emily Moss, who was delayed. The committee held seminars on Apr. 27 and May 18 entitled "Building your Financial Future.". Plans are being discussed for a presentation on the staff retirement plan. The next meeting will be held in the fall.


Librarian's Assembly

The committee discussed the Librarian's Assembly, which was held on May 3rd. About 145 librarians attended the meeting, which featured a forum on Harvard Librarians and Professional Identity in the Digital World. Panelists included Lynda Kresge, William Stoneman, Judy Messerele, and Melissa Shaffer, standing in for Tom Michalak. The committee agreed that the meeting had been excellent and the choice of topic and speakers were particularly apt. Ken Carpenter will add the minutes to the Committee's Web page.


Committee Assignments

Eighteen applications were received for ten vacancies on the various committees. Committee assignments were made and alternates designated. Committee chairs will contact new committee members in order to confirm their interest. Scott will inform those who we could not fit with assignments this year.


Scott Britton

This will be Scott's last meeting. The Committee thanked him for the excellent job he has done this year in chairing the committee and organizing the Assemblies.


Next Meeting

Next meeting will be held in June, the date and place to be announced. It will be convened by Vice-chair, Amy Kautzman.