Executive Committee
Home Page


Minutes of the Executive Committee

June 20, 2001

Present: Ethel Hellman, Amy Kautzman (Chair), Jan Voogd (Vice-Chair), Enith Vardaman, Lynda Kresge, Karen Nipps (Recording).

Absent: Judi Beland, Malcolm Hamilton, Joe Bourneuf, Karen Carlson-Young, Mary Beth Clack, Paula Ebbitt.

Committee Reports

The chairs of the individual committees were reminded that they need to send A. Kautzman a brief annual report. They should also send her the names of the new chairs, which she will then announce at the same time as the ballot results are announced.

Nominating Committee

K. Nipps reported that this year’s ballot would be in people’s mailboxes by the end of the week. Included in the mailing is a request for volunteers for the Standing Committees with vacancies. The deadline for responses to these is July 6. The Rights and Responsibilities Committee will remain inactive and its membership unchanged and next year’s Executive Committee will discuss its future.

Other Business

A. Kautzman shared a letter from Neil Rudenstine thanking all of the members of the Assembly for their thoughtful gift. L. Kresge will get it scanned and mount it on the Assembly’s website. She is also in the process of getting photographs of the book and spring meeting and written proceedings mounted.

E. Hellman reported that the project to gather all of the Librarians’ Assembly archives together at the HU Archives was well underway. It is expected that this project will be successfully concluded in the fall.

E. Hellman inquired about procedures for the transition into next year’s committee rosters, including the appointment of new chairs. There was also a discussion about trying to get Lawrence Summers to speak at the fall Assembly meeting.

Everyone thanked A. Kautzman for her efforts on behalf of the Librarians’ Assembly as this year’s Executive Committee chair.