Executive Committee
Home Page


Minutes of the Executive Committee

9 May 2002

Present: Ethel Hellman (Chair), Jan Voogd (Vice-chair, recording), Rachel Howarth, Karen Bailey, Jackie Dean, Susan Lieberthal, Lynda Kresge, Jane Hedberg.
Absent: Kathleen Hunter Rutter, Michael Hopper.

Committee Reports


No report.

Communications and Orientation (Jackie Dean reporting)

Spring lunches for New Librarians begin week of 13 May.

Professional Development

No report; Karen Nipps has been appointed interim chair.

Rights and Responsibilities (Lynda Kresge reporting)

On reserve status, awaiting identification of particular issues of concern.

Old Business

1. Rachel Howarth is the chair of the Nominations Committee, and with Committee volunteers Pam Spitzmueller and Andrea Schulman, will send out ballots on 25 May to elect positions becoming vacant at the end of this term. There are two members-at-large whose terms end in August 2002. The ballots will be due back 25 June.

2. The LAEC chair has announced a call for volunteers for committee work, to begin with the next term. Committee volunteers will be reviewed and selected at the July meeting of the LAEC.

3. The Spring Assembly will be Thursday, May 30, from 10:30-12:00 in the Lamont Forum Room. The topic will be New Dimensions of Public Service: Three People Not Talking about ALEPH." Sid Verba will set a context for the speakers, who will be Bonnie Burns demonstrating the new Harvard Geospatial Library and Leslie Morris talking about OASIS. There will be informational handouts about the Librariansí Assembly and its committees produced by Karen Bailey, and the program will be taped.

Next meeting: July 11, 2002, 3:00-4:30 p.m., in the conference room at 625 Mass. Ave.