HOLLIS CIRCULATION LIAISONS MEETING

February 1, 2000 9:15-10:45 OIS Conference Room

Informal Meeting Notes

Introductions

Old Business

  1. New circ libraries (Rubel and McKay/Blue Hill Libraries) expected to be up and running soon (this month).
  2. Scheduled reports for LOST charges -- the data used for these is now created every month, on the 2nd of the month rather than on the 1st. MC will produce reports as soon as possible after the new reporting data is created.
  3. Other? 1) HULPR slowdown problems are greatly improved - see OIS news at: http://hul.harvard.edu/ois/news/hnl/issues/2000/02/#infra for more details. 2) TFSCP update: Elizabeth McKeigue reported that she will present the task group's proposal to the ULC at its February meeting on the 17th. If approved, implementation could occur as early as this fall. If the plans move forward, ULC has also committed to public relations part of this.

 

New Business

  1. Patron record problem (Countway) - was this resolved by updated patron file? Appears to be fixed.
  2. RECALL questions (Lamont). Primary question has to do with the system's behavior when charging a recalled item to lost -- system does not retain recall fines. MC has not tested yet, but others in the group noted that they always remove the recall first -and manually create a recall fine.
  3. Products text: if you have typos to report, let us know this week. We can make minor text changes as part of the installation of new units.
  4. Other? 1) We looked at some problematic patron records. One displayed an almost blank screen. Follow-up at OIS revealed that the last field in the record contained a TAB; Charles Husbands has manually corrected the problem and the record now displays correctly. Another couple of problematic patron records were identified by the group as having incorrect values in the OVERDUE and ITEMS CHARGED fields. OIS is looking into the problem.

Next Meeting: March 7, 2000 -- 9:15-10:45 - OIS Conference Room

February Attendees

First Name

Last Name

Library

Phone#

E-mail

Judi

Beland

COUNTWAY MEDICINE

2-3202

jbeland@hms.harvard.edu

Scott

Britton

LAMONT

5-2455

sbritton@fas.harvard.edu

Gene

DeVita

TOZZER

5-2253

devita@fas.harvard.edu

Paula

Ebbitt

KENNEDY SCH OF GOV

5-1305

paula_ebbitt@harvard.edu

Marcella

Flaherty

GUTMAN EDUCATION

5-3421

flaherma@hugse1.harvard.edu

Desiree

Goodwin

LOEB DESIGN

5-9163

dgoodwin@gsd.harvard.edu

Deb

Grier

FINE ARTS

6-1943

grier@fas.harvard.edu

Melissa

Hilbert

WOLBACH OBS (HCO)

6-7601

mhilbert@cfa.harvard.edu

Susan

Leavitt

LITTAUER

6-1454

sleavitt@fas.harvard.edu

Bruno

Leung

LAMONT

5-2452

bleung@fas.harvard.edu

Tom

Macdonald

HILLES

5-8722

thmacdon@fas.harvard.edu

Elizabeth

McKeigue

WIDENER

6-4023

mckeigue@fas.harvard.edu

 

Circulation Policy Changes

Scheduled between 01/31/00 and 02/29/00

Reminder Date

Service Unit

Policy change

02/01/00

DE

Set 3x/year CARREL due date to May 31

02/01/00

PH

One-time change: add fines

02/01/00

MK

New circulation service unit for McKay/Blue Hill Libraries

02/01/00

RU

New circulation service unit for Rubel Library

 

 

 

Tuesday, February 1, 2000

 


Circ Liaisons Home Page | HUL Home Page
Please address any corrections or additions to Martha Creedon (
m_creedon@harvard.edu)
rev 02/09/00