HOLLIS CIRCULATION LIAISONS MEETING

August 1, 2000 9:15-10:45 OIS Conference Room

Informal meeting notes (MLC)

Introductions

Old Business

  1. TFSCP changes in production today for Cabot, Chemistry, Fine Arts and Rubel, Gutman, Hilles, Kummel, Lamont, Littauer, Law, Music, Tozzer, Widener, Wolbach. To do today or tomorrow: Design. To do mid-August: Harvard-Yenching. To do in September: Countway, KSG, Divinity. To be determined: McKay, Physics.
  2. Calendar data. See http://hul.harvard.edu/cmtes/circl/calendars.html. Updated fall schedules are due this week.
  3. Other? 

New Business

  1. Summer school outstanding charges report. When is it needed this year? MLC to contact Eddie Doctoroff at Widener; based on previous years, it should run 1) the Monday after Summer School, 2) 3 days prior to the SS deadline for holding transcripts and 3) December 1. Perhaps Eddie knows the date this year for SS transcript deadline.
  2. Blocking problem on particular patron record (Gene DeVita, Tozzer) MLC: tabled this for now as Gene was unable to attend the meeting.
  3. Ways around the daily printing of overdue items in search list (Gene DeVita, Tozzer) MLC: tabled this for now as Gene was unable to attend the meeting.
  4. Laptop loans to begin at Lamont (Jon Lanham). Jon described an HCL initiative that will pilot the loaning of Toshiba "Tough Book" laptops through the Lamont Library Reserve Service Unit this fall. Pilot to include only undergraduate borrowers; laptops to be loaned for 3 hour periods. Lots of work being done to determine efficient as well as effective procedures for checking for damage upon return. Jon distributed DRAFT copies of the loan policy and user agreement.

Next Meeting: September 5, 2000 -- 9:15-10:45 - OIS Conference Room

For libraries using extended loans that conform to the TFSCP recommendations, here is the rollover schedule. This will also be posted as a link from the main CIRC-L web page.

Fixed due-date rollover schedule

2x/year

Rollover

Due date

On this date:

Changes from:

To:

12/10

02/10

09/10

07/10*

09/10

02/10

 

3x/year

Rollover

Due date

On this date:

Changes from:

To:

12/10

02/10

06/10

04/10

06/10

09/10

07/10*

09/10

02/10**

*in 2000, the rollover to 9/10 will be set up for Aug 1 instead of July 10

**If your library is closed on any of these dates, the actual date will be the next open date on the calendar for your library. For example, in 2001, February 10 is a Saturday. Kummel is closed on Saturdays; their due date for extended loans is now 2/12/01.

 

August Attendees

First Name

Last Name

Library

Phone#

E-mail

Judi

Beland

COUNTWAY MEDICINE

2-3202

jbeland@hms.harvard.edu

Desiree

Goodwin

LOEB DESIGN

5-9163

Dgoodwin@gsd.harvard.edu

Deb

Grier

FINE ARTS

6-1943

grier@fas.harvard.edu

Patty

Hatch

HUL--OIS

5-3724

phatch@HULmail.harvard.edu

Melissa

Hilbert

WOLBACH OBS (HCO)

6-7601

mhilbert@cfa.harvard.edu

Susan

Leavitt

LITTAUER

6-1454

sleavitt@fas.harvard.edu

Mr. Xiaohe

Ma

HARVARD-YENCHING

5-2756

xhma@fas.harvard.edu

Elizabeth

McKeigue

WIDENER

6-4023

Mckeigue@fas.harvard.edu

Karin

Medin

LAW SCHOOL

6-3836

kmedin@law.harvard.edu

Anne

Tanguay

HILLES

5-8722

tanguay@fas.harvard.edu

Andy

Wilson

LOEB MUSIC

5-2794

awilson@fas.harvard.edu


Circ Liaisons Home Page | HUL Home Page
Please address any corrections or additions to Martha Creedon (
m_creedon@harvard.edu)
rev 08/02/00