Handbook for Librarians & Professional and Administrative Staff in the Harvard University Library

The Organization of the University Library

Faculty Libraries

Most of the University's libraries are administratively a part of one of the ten faculties: Arts and Sciences, Business, Design, Divinity, Education, Government, Law, Medicine, Public Health, and the Radcliffe Institute. The Schools of Dental Medicine, Public Health, and Medicine are all served by the Countway Library of Medicine. These libraries are supported by their faculties, and the faculty librarians report to their deans. Together with the departments of the University Library administration and other Harvard libraries and affiliates, these make up the federation that is the Harvard University Library.

Last modified on Thursday, April 18, 2002.